Does travelling require actual travelling?

Random question perhaps?

I ask because of my thoughts while watching the opening ceremony and match of the 2010 World Cup, proudly held in SA!! We watched at a little hole in the wall restaurant, beer and soju in hand, with the TV balancing precariously on empty soju crates, and neon as far as the eye could see. Yet, thanks to the wonder of tech, I felt like I did a RTW trip in a few hours.

First off, the obvious example. There, in front of me, live and in colour, pictures of my home town, my president, millions of my flags, my anthem and general SA vibe. Local bands who I’ve watched repeatedly now gracing the international stage!. Which is always excellent!! Nothing like a little patriotism.

Watchin African soccer, in Asia.

Then, thanks to the equivalent of $7 on a few pieces of plastic and some impressive engineering, I travelled around the world. Friends and family from back home checking if we were being patriotic and watching the soccer. A few friends bragging about being at Soccer City. An old friend from varsity stuck in the office in Canary Wharf, lamenting the fact he could not get out of the office to watch. An old colleague in the UK who had bunked work and was in my old local, sipping on the first pint of the day with the footie on the telly. An old flame at PWC in NY who was watching in the office. A friend in Ecuador who had risen early so to not miss the festivities. Expat Saffa’s in Perth who still get teary when they hear the national anthem.

So, the question is, have cellphone (or modem), will travel. Or am I simplifying a little too much.

P.S. Have a look at these pics to get a feel of what I mean.

Published in: on 15/06/2010 at 10:26 pm  Comments (4)  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://ramblingsaffie.wordpress.com/2010/06/15/does-travelling-require-actual-travelling/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

4 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. You made me smile, wonderful idea and so nice to witness how much inspiration this event has given so many writers.

  2. You can certainly travel via cellphone or modem, but you can’t experience the same gees as being here in person.
    Thanks for the link to the pics – they gave me goosebumps 🙂


Leave a Reply

